Board of Directors, Staff & Regional Representatives

Board Chair

Douglas Todd, religion and migration writer, The Vancouver Sun, Canada

Douglas Todd writes on religion and migration mainly for The Vancouver Sun and Postmedia News, which is Canada’s largest newspaper chain. He has also been a long-time correspondent for Religion News Service, which is based in New York. He has received 33 national and international journalism prizes. He is a two-time winner of the Templeton Religion Reporter of the Year Award, winner of a Canadian National Newspaper Award and has been given the top prizes for commentary from the American Academy of Religion. His blog garners more than two million page views a year. He is the author of two books and editor of Cascadia: The Elusive Utopia – Exploring the Spirit of the Pacific Northwest. In 2015 he was elected chair of the International Association of Religion Journalists.

Board Vice Chair

Astrid Dalehaug Norheim, newspaper Dagen, published in Bergen, Norway.

For nearly three decades, Astrid Dalehaug Norheim has been writing about religion in Norway. She has done important reporting on how Norwegian Asylum Authorities view asylum applications from convert, and on sexual harassment and abuse in Christian organizations and churches. She has been working for the newspaper Vaart Land, and has served on the board for The Norwegian Union of Journalists. She has also been the leader of the board of journalist and editors joint funding for education of and scholarships for journalists ( She has studied comparative politics, history, islam, theology, religion and leadership.

Executive Director, Board Member

Endy Bayuni, senior editor at The Jakarta Post, Indonesia

Endy Bayuni, executive director of the IARJ, was editor-in-chief of The Jakarta Post from 2004-2018. Earlier in his career, he had stints with Reuters and Agence France Presse as their Indonesian correspondent. His work is widely published in op-eds and analytical articles in publications around the world, including Foreign Policy and The New York Times and Washington Post. He is a recipient of the East West Center senior fellowship in Washington DC in 2010, the Jefferson Fellowhip at the East West Center in Honolulu in 1999, and the Nieman Fellowship at Harvard University in 2004.

Board Members

  • Indeewari Amuwatte (Sri Lanka)—Head of news for Colombo-based “AdaDerana English” on Sri Lanka’s only 24-hour news channel.
  • Uday Basu (India)—Coordinating editor of The Statesman, a leading English-language daily published in India’s major cities.
  • Pedro Brieger (Argentina)—Director of Nodal, an online hub for news from throughout Latin America, professor, author and columnist with Canal Five Noticias (Channel Five News), a pay-per-view television news channel.
  • Prince Charles Dickson (Nigeria)—Journalist for Blueprint Newspapers, whose work is also syndicated by the Sun Newspapers, Guardian, The Nation and The Daily Trust.
  • Jonah Mandel (Israel)—Full-time correspondent for Agence France-Press.
  • Peggy Fletcher Stack (United States)—Full-time religion writer at The Salt Lake Tribune since 1991, winning numerous awards.

Regional Representatives

  • Sub-Saharan Africa—Yazeed Kamaldien (South Africa)—Journalist, photographer and independent documentary filmmaker.
  • East Asia—Zurairi Abd Rahman (Malaysia)—Assistant news editor and columnist with Malaysia’s oldest publication, The Malay Mail.
  • West/South Asia—Waqar Gillani (Pakistan)—Special correspondent with The News International, one of the leading English dailies of Pakistan.
  • Europe—Jelena Jorgačević Kisić (Serbia)—Covers social and religious issues for the news magazine, Vreme.

IARJ Staff

  • Co-managing Director/Web Editor—Elisa Di Benedetto (Italy)
  • Co-managing Director/Web Editor—Larbi Megari (Algeria)
  • Communication Director—David Crumm (United States)
  • Finance Director—Martin Davis (United States)

Senior Advisor

  • David Briggs (United States)